

You are invited to enter this year's Save As Competition! Each year we are increasingly impressed by the quality of the writing that we receive from around the world. Now in its 5th year we hope to make this the best year yet.

Guidelines

Poetry

Poems are welcome on any subject, with a maximum of 50 lines.

This year the poetry prize will be judged by

Abegail Morley

Author of *How to Pour Madness into a Teacup* (Cinnamon Press, 2009) - shortlisted for the Forward Prize Best First Collection, and *Snow Child* (Pindrop Press, 2011)

Prose

Stories may have any theme, with a maximum of 4000 words.

This year the prose prize will be judged by

Sonia Overall

Author of *A Likeness* (Harper Perennial) – shortlisted for the Author's Club Best First Novel Award (2006), and *The Realm of Shells* (Harper Perennial, 2011)

There is no limit to the number of entries per person. The deadline for all entries is November 30th 2012. Entries with a post mark of November 30th will be accepted.

No entries must have been entered in any previous Save As competition or been placed in the top three in any other competition. Otherwise, previously published entries are accepted. The copyright of each entry remains with the writer but Save As Writers reserves the right to publish winning entries on its website.

The judge will see EACH piece – there is no sifting beforehand.

Prizes

1st PRIZE

2nd PRIZE £25

3rd PRIZE €15

Plus each winner receives a trophy.

How to Enter

Entry fees - £3 per poem/story, £8 for three.

Entries can be either hard copy or electronic. If submitting hard copies please post them to:

Luigi Marchini Chairman Save As Writers 35 Spillett Close Faversham Kent ME13 8QP

Your name must not appear on your hard copies but please include a covering letter with your name, contact details, and title of the pieces submitted

Electronic copies must be sent to saveas@hotmail.co.uk and headed as either 'Poetry' or 'Prose'.

In both cases all monies must be sent to the above address with cheques payable to 'Save As Writers'.

The winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony in February 2013.

Good luck!

LUIGI MARCHINI http://www.saveaswriters.co.uk/